>>SIAYA SHINES IN KCSE 2014    |     >>UGENYA, UGUNJA DISTRICTS SET PACE    |     >>St Francis Rang'ala Girls Leads in Siaya    |     >>St Francis Rang'ala Girls Leads in Sciences    |     >>Barding and Nyamira Girls Excels    |     >>Maranda High School Perfoms well but miss ranking

Welcome to Siaya County Website

Siayacounty.com is a website to share information about the newly established county of Siaya. This website aims at provide vital information to the residents of Siaya county, friends of the county, students, researchers, business entities, county and national government and international organizations for curiosity, academic, recreational and development purposes.

Our Concern

Our sole concern is to collect and package the huge already existing information about Siaya County and present it to various stakeholders for consumption and decision making.

Our vision

Accuracy and Precision in Data Provision and Sharing.

Our mission

To be the leading one-stop informative website about Siaya County through well researched detailed articles, relevant links, PDF files, and news feeds.

Overview of Siaya County

Siaya County is one of the forty seven (47) counties established under the new Constitution of Kenya 2010, made of the former Siaya district of as under the 1992 districts of Kenya and combines the current Siaya, Bondo, Rarieda and Ugunja districts. It is located in Nyanza province and borders Busia, Kakamega, Vihiga Kisumu, and Homabay counties. It also borders Lake Victoria, the second largest fresh water lake in the world.

The equator traverses the county as it is enclosed within latitudes 0 °26 ´North to 0°90´ South and longitudes 33° 58´ East and 34° 35´ West. The region experiences a modified equatorial climate with two rainfall seasons and relatively high temperatures. The topography is undulating dissected by water divides of rivers Nzoia and Yala, as altitude rises from 1140 m to 1400 m. The county also hosts Kenya’s biggest swamp, Yala swamp and one of the few ox bow lakes in the country, Lake Kanyaboli.

The County has an area of 2530.4 sq Km with a population of 842,304 and is made up of six constituencies and twenty nine wards. Thus in a general election, the populace elects the following political leaders: a president of the Republic of Kenya, a governor, senator and a woman representative of Siaya County, six members of parliament for the six constituencies in the county and twenty nine county representatives to the Siaya County government.

Overview | Current Leaders | Education | Health | Environment | Fact Sheet | Economy | Famous People | Politics | Contact Us
Copyright © 2012 Siaya County Website | Designed by Evans | Contact Site Admin